cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not Bad for a 4 Year Old

At long last, I got that final post and footing done yesterday after work. It was something that could wait, since it was the middle post under what was really an extra beam in the first place. Ida helped again. She's too small to lift a 60 pound bag of concrete mix. But after I put the mix in a 5 gallon bucket she adds the water and helps to mix it. Then she ladles the wet concrete into the hole.

She tends to mix concrete a little thin for post holes in my opinion. On the other hand, she's 4 years old and the fact that she can seriously participate in pouring a concrete footing at all is pretty good.

I also taught her how to use spray paint yesterday. I may come to regret that one eventually.

Her basic carpentry skills still leave a lot to be desired. I always have to start nails for her. Sometimes she can pound them in ok but she just cannot get one started.

Tonight I'm volunteering for some sort of Earth Day fundraiser shit. I have no idea what this organization is or what they'll do with the money, but my friend Kevin needed some help so I volunteered. The job consists of checking IDs and pouring beer at an outdoor concert. Fine by me. I'm a strong supporter of beer.

I need to get back to the serious carpentry this weekend. Enough futzing around with the little things. I NEED to get some more 2x6s tomorrow to make a ridge board out of and get moving for real on the roof. I'm hoping to enlist the help of Bob and his pickup truck in this endeavor.

11:40 - 2008-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far