cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The End of the Venison

Yesterday I bought cow meat for the first time since September. Dammit. Well, it was a good run. We were self-sufficient in protein production for 6 and a half months. We're not completely out of venison. I still have a backstrap and some other cuts left that I'm saving for special occasions. But venison will probably not be a staple in our house again until bow season starts around the end of September or so.

Trish and Ida asked me to buy steak. So I got a rib eye and a couple of T-bones. Beef is weird after eating venison 3 or 4 times a week for half a year. This stuff is FULL of fat. When I finished my T-bone, half of it was still on the plate in the form of inedible gristle and fat. What a waste. This doesn't happen with venison. Deer meat has no marbling. The fat is all isolated and it gets carved out and put into dog food when I butcher. So when I finish eating a venison steak there is literally nothing left on my plate.

I felt disgusting after eating the cow meat. I mean, it tasted good. But there was so much grease and fat. Ick. The very idea of ingesting that much straight fat is gross. No wonder so many Americans are so fucking fat. Look at the meat that they eat. Beef and pork. Bleh. I think it's no coincidence that Trish and I have both improved our physical condition in the last 6 months. We completely substituted venison for beef and cut out all of that fat and cholesterol. As we've been running out of venison over the last few weeks, Trish has been eating less of that and more of other stuff and sure enough she's put on at least 10 pounds.

My only hope of getting some venison in the freezer before the bow season starts in late September is road kill.

Hey, don't laugh. Usually a couple of times a year I come across the scene of a car accident where someone hit a deer. And frequently the deer is still feebly alive by the side of the road and I end up having to put it out of it's misery. In that event, there is no good reason not to take the deer home and eat it. It's 400 dollars worth of meat. Why would you leave that by the side of the road when it's perfectly fresh? Well, most people should leave it for the vultures since they wouldn't know what the fuck to do with it. But now that I'm already in the habit of butchering my own meat it just makes sense to take those deer home and butcher them.

Totally guilt-free meat. An animal that had a good life in the wild and then died by accident. You can't get food any more ethically than that.

Those 3 steaks last night cost a total of 16 bucks. And that was on sale. This shit adds up. It's too expensive. We are not going to be able to eat meat 3 or 4 times a week like we used to. At that rate, we'd be spending 200 dollars a month. Not until we start butchering our own food again. Last night Trish asked me to take her out in the woods this weekend to start teaching her how to track and stalk. I believe that seeing the grocery store receipt prompted this. I'm glad she's taking this whole hunting thing seriously.

13:13 - 2008-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far