cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Agent is Awesome

In spite of having no fucking money whatsoever and not knowing how to pay the electrical bill, very good things are happening.

Late yesterday afternoon I got an email from my agent. I was mightily relieved to hear that they hadn't sent out my proposal and book to any publishers yet. This was good news because I was getting worried that nobody was biting. Turns out that she was awaiting feedback from her partners at the firm.

They wanted me to re-write the first few paragraphs before they sent it off, so I did that very quickly. Now they love it and everything is moving ahead. I also decided that this was the right time to let her in on my awesome awesome new non-fiction book that I'm working on. She is all over it and loves it and is very psyched to sell it. This new one should sell even better.

My agent also said that she some prospective publishers will be coming to my workshop in NYC next weekend. YES! This was a huge part of the whole workshop-in-NYC plan in the first place. I knew that editors of food-related publishing houses would get emails about it from the Sl0w Food list and show up. They will get there and they will see other editors there, and of course they've all gotten the manuscript and proposal a few days before. So come Monday morning, they'll all be worried that one of the other editors they saw at my event will sign me, so there will be this mad scramble to make competeing offers with lovely big book advances.

Its my wonderful, crafty, devious, yet entirely honest and gentlemanly plan. AND ITS FUCKING WORKING.

Meanwhile, my st@rling hunt is back on in the originally intended location. My friends at the top of the state wildlife agency came through and figured out a loop hole to let me use that land. Score!

1:19 p.m. - 2010-03-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far