cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Steady Boil of Shit Happening

This big push to get the book ready is kind of grueling but it seems to be going well. I'm usually not getting home until close to 9pm, but I'm cruising right along and getting a lot done. I think I'm going to meet my deadline.

Tomorrow morning I have to get up at fucking 6 am on a Saturday in order to meet F. at his place so we can drive his truck out to this deer f@rm to buy a deer.

Why am I, of all people, paying for a deer? Because I desaperately need to get this chapter of recipes finished and I'm all out of venison to work with. This is July and it isn't deer season. Even if I got named on a kill permit for a farm, which wouldn't be hard for me, I still wouldn't pull the trigger because kill permits are does only and most every doe around has fawns hidden somewhere right now. I will kill to eat, but I won't go orphaning a fawn that hasn't been weaned yet. Dying quickly of a bullet through the heart is one thing. Starving to death is another.

So I've got to drive out and buy a deer from this froward bitch of a woman whom I do not get along with. This was why I had wanted to just send F., since he gets along with her just fine. But someone this has turned into me coming as well, which defeats the purpose of my having got him in on it.

It is going to be hot as fuck tomorrow and I don't want to risk the whole deer spoiling in the back of the truck on our way home, even on ice. If she is ok with me doing it there then I'll skin and quarter it on the spot. Then I can pack all of the meat into a cooler on ice where it will be fine for the trip back.

Pretty much that is what I have to do with my whole weekend. Butchering and cooking and taking pictures and getting some recipes written down. I need to find a better kitchen to work in, because Trish has completely fucking trashed ours again.

Too much email in my inbox right now. All of it fussy, pain-in-the-ass stuff. I'm trying to get this trip up to MA arranged ASAP to catch Europe@n green cr@bs for the new book and its like pulling teeth. The only reason why I added that to the book is to have a good excuse to go up there and visit family and maybe bring some things back from my grandfather's house. But my uncle Mike is fucking hounding me to set a date when I'm going to be there, since they are trying to clear it out immediately (Why? The house is not being sold out of the family after being ours for 5 generations and there are no immediate plans for it). Dude emails me like twice a day.

Meanwhile, I'm trying to get hooked up with these Phd candidates in NH who are studying these same invasive crabs because the chapter would be way better if I can come with them on a boat and get their perspective on matters, and then by the way I'll just take this bushel of crabs to cook up instead of them grinding them into chum or whatever.

I sort of need dates figured out with these guys before I can tell my uncle when I'll be up there. And yet he won't leave it alone. If I just wander around in tide pools picking these crabs up then I'm sure I'd come up with enough for a small meal, but I need way more than that. I need enough to develop recipes and fuck things up a few times and still have more crabs to cook.

How am I even doing all of this shit at once? I'm starting a fucking consulting business on top of everything else and dealing with professional liability coverage and still sort of doing my out-going day job and training people here to replace me. If I stop and think about it all for too long then it will probably all fall apart.


That writer I mentioned the other day, Lisa, put a DVD documentary on her former band (I didn't even know she had a band that was slightly a big deal) on eBay last week. She pimped it on FB so I went in and bid on it. Now she's been posting more stuff on FB wondering who this mysterious person is (my eBay user name is something fun) that's bidding on her DVD. Then one of her friends was all, 'oh I think I'll go bid on it too.' This was last night. So I'm like, 'no you fucking don't' and now I'm in a bidding war with this chick.

The auction ends in an hour and I don't even really want the DVD. I am 100% bidding this thing up just to flirt with Lisa. I freely admit it.

______________________


The very idea that I have another 6 fucking weeks of working at this desk every week day is sickening. At least I'll probably get away for a while for this crabbing trip. If it works out.

I'm just done with the desk thing for a while. Sitting at a desk for 8 or 9 hours. Its retarded. I would say that out of that time, maybe 3 to 4 hours of meaningful, useful work gets done. So lets end the charade. This is just unhealthy to be sitting still so much. I should out walking around, running, climbing a tree, exercising, making things. Then for a few hours now and then I come inside and sit down and do some work. And when I'm feeling unproductive then I should stand up and do something else.

11 years was long enough to piss away behind a desk. I don't like wasting even another 6 weeks.


10:01 a.m. - 2010-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far