cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Important Deal

Oh dude. I just got the good word from my publicist that we have a deal with C@belas. They are going to be carrying my book in all 36 stores and we probably still have time to get it into the holiday catalog as well.

I've spent a lot of time trying to convince my publisher that we need to get Cabel@s to carry the book. They can move a LOT of copies. Assuming that it makes it into the holiday catalog, I think that they will be good for sales of around 10,000 copies. I bugged the shit out of them for the last week in particular and its finally done.

Those sales are all final, too. Normal bookstores get to return unsold books at any point to the publisher so it takes forever for the publisher to clear them from their books, declare them to be actual sales, and pay out the royalties. I get a higher royalty on non-bookstore sales, too.

I figure that the Cabelas deal should end up earning enough to cover a little more than half of my advance for that book.

Now I want B@ss Pr0 Shops on board. I bet Tr@ctor Supply would be good for sales of at least a thousand copies. All of these are non-book stores and the sales get cleared right away. That is what I need because I'm really depending on royalties starting to roll in on this book in late 2012. I want that book advance earned out ASAP.

My whole situation is fucking ridiculous. I have all of this shit happening and yet I still only have $8 to live off of for the rest of the month. I'm the subject of a documentary and all of these magazine articles are about to start coming out and I have a book that just launched and I'm speaking at another conference next week and C@belas is stocking my stuff and all of this other shit and yet somehow I don't seem to be getting paid any actual money.

Being slightly famous is fucking retarded.

9:10 p.m. - 2011-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far