cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stuck on the Chapter

I am really struggling with these next few chapters of this book.

You know what's total bullshit? Try searching the internet for advice on this.

Christ, the advice on how to write a non-fiction book is such purile crap.

Here is what the real thing is that I need to hear: You have to just sit down and start from the beginning and write the fucking thing. And write crap, if you need to. Just write, and then you will have a thing that you can edit, and then you can make that be something that is good.

That is the secret to writing the tough chapter that you are avoiding writing. It requires sitting down and starting doing it and then just continuing to do it until you have some piece of crap that you can make better.

I have my own secret but I'm still holding off. But it's time. It is time to sell this book and to move to the next step.

I am delaying because I have no platform anymore. I had one. I was a regular for Sl@te and for Sm1ths0nian until a few years ago. I was on All Th1ngs C0nsidered sometimes, and was quoted in late night monologues.

And I have very little idea how to get back to that. But that is sort of a prerequisite for a reasonable book deal.

3:43 a.m. - 2021-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far