cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fuck Contact Lenses

Contact lenses. Let me tell you something about contact lenses: fuck contact lenses. I am THIS FUCKING CLOSE to saying to hell with it and going permanently back to glasses.

It's almost constant irritation. If anything, my vision is actually worse than it was before. It's kind of hard to read the text on this monitor, for example. The lenses are uncomfortable and constantly drying out. I'm using these rewetting drops every 30 minutes sometimes. If there is strong air conditioning then just forget about it.

Then there's the fun of putting them in and taking them out. Here's the thing: I have really long eye lashes. Yes. And it's hard to even make a clear path that is the diameter of the lens into my eye. I don't flinch. That isn't the problem. Even when I put it straight on my eyeball probably 90% of the time it just plain does not stick. I remove my finger and the lens comes with it. Or the lens turns inside out. Or touches the lashes and folds up. Then every single time it's fucked up I have to wash the lens and start all over again.

If I could not wear these overnight then I would have thrown them out already. Because spending as much as 40 minutes a day just trying to get these stupid fucking things in my eyes is so not worth it. Lately I've been having to put them in and out several times a day on account of all the pollen in the air and my eyes being extra irritated. This cannot continue.

I just put in a new pair. Some other brand to test. After than I have one other pair with a slightly different prescription. And then that is it. I'll give each pair 3 days for a fair trial and then if neither works then I am just done with the whole obnoxious fucking thing.

Contact lenses have turned out to be exactly what I always figured. My whole reason for putting it off for so many years turned out to be exactly right. These are a fussy, annoying, irritating pain in the ass which requires me to carry around all manner of little bottles of shit and a little case for the lenses and a pair of glasses just in case. I am constantly having to do shit with them and my eyes are always red.

Lasik eye surgery. I think that's going to end up being the only way out of the glasses.

1:52 p.m. - 2007-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far