cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This Happened to my Sister-In-Law with Handbags.

Today is Ida's first day of preschool. I mean for the new school year. She went last year, too. She is very excited and pleased to be seeing her friends again.

I tried a little dove hunting on my property after work but I got home too late and didn't see any. The golden hours are really 4-6 pm. I didn't get out there until around 7 and by then the doves were probably all tucked in for the evening. But whatever. It's not like I had to drive anywhere. Basically I just go for a walk with a shotgun in hand and maybe sit at the edge of a field and watch the sky for a while. A pleasant enough activity whether or not I get any doves. And if I do get some then that's just dinner as a bonus.

My study is a horrible mess. I need to clean it after work except that I'm supposed to go over to Trish's parents' house for dinner. Dammit.

Hey, where the fuck is my new shotgun already? It's been a week and a half and that side-by-side Stevens should be ready for me to pick up by now. I never really meant to get into shotguns. It just sort of happened. You hunt turkeys or geese and you need one kind of shotgun and then you need something else for doves. And then you find that one of the guns you have isn't holding up in the rough weather so you get another one that will. Then something that takes magnum length shells for long-range pass-shooting. And so on and so on until you've got this whole collection of shotguns that you never really intended to have.

This happened to my sister-in-law with handbags.

Melinda and I are talking about maybe going on a canoing trip next month with Erin. Trish might comes as well. It all depends on figuring out dog and kid-sitting. If she does come then I want to divide the planning labor. She needs to be in charge of lining up dog, baby and kid care while I deal with all of the trip planning. Figuring out the smartest route based on the projected water levels and flow rate. Lining up transportation for canoes, people and gear to and from the river.

I need to talk to Lars when he gets back from his Burning Man trip. He has a GPS that he's taken on all of our trips for years. What we've done is plot data with the GPS on where the best islands and camp sites are and record how much time it took us to get from point A to point B under different conditions. Locations of public and private boat landings for emergency take-outs. We made this whole custom map of that stretch of river that nobody else has. It's really fucking cool but I don't have a copy of it. Hopefully he hasn't pawned the GPS for weed without copying the data.

Maybe I can get him to drive a shuttle vehicle, too. Shuttling can be a pain in the ass. Because who wants to leave their car parked unattended at a boat landing in the middle of nowhere for 3 days? Anything could happen to it. Which means that you've got to get someone to drive out there to meet you at the end. If there are 2 boats then you need 2 people to drive out since there's no way you can put 2 canoes on one car. I wish I still had my truck. I had no problem leaving it parked in the middle of nowhere for days on end since it was basically a piece of shit. My BMW is another story.

11:03 a.m. - 2007-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far