cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Some lovely political news this week. Suddenly, V1rginia has the number one Senate race most likely to change hands in 2008. Which is to say it's looking to switch from red to blue. My man M@rk W@rner is running. I worked on his campaign for Governor in 2001 and was a big booster of his Presidential campaign until he inexplicably decided not to run after all last October. He would have wiped the floor with Hillary Clinton. Oh well.

Anyway, this Senate seat is open and Mark is running for it. My elation stems from the fact that only a few years ago this was considered a die-hard red state. I have spent years busting my ass to help rebuild the Democratic party in V1rginia and am very proud of what we've done in the last 6 years. While all the rest of the country was descending into this scary, fascist Republican Bush nightmare where Democrats couldn't win anything, we were showing the way out. We went from having the Republicans run the whole state and hold both Senate seats and most of the Congressional seats to a dramatic turn-around. We won the Governor's mansion 2 times in a row. Mark left office last year with an approval rating in the high 70's. His successor, whom I also campaigned for, has had an approval rating in the 70's and low 80's.

Then we beat the shit out of George A11en last year. That was my biggest fight yet and my most meaningful victory. It was this battle royale that I fought in the trenches every day which ended up being the final victory that took control of the Senate away from the Republicans. I am more proud of that than I am of any other political campaign I've ever been a part of.

So now we've suddenly got another Senate opportunity. Bear in mind that this sudden string of success comes after years during which the Republican incumbent went completely unchallenged. I am totally psyched.

I don't believe that there is any candidate who can beat Mark for this Senate seat. It's basically a pickup and one vote closer to the 60 votes we need in the Senate to get us the fuck out of Iraq already.

The only downside to all of this is that there isn't much for me to do. It's not like with J1m W3bb where he was the underdog and I had to fight like hell for him from the second he was interested in running.

12:40 p.m. - 2007-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far