cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

House Addition

I'm getting a $10k bonus. Not sure if that is next paycheck or at the end of the year. It is unclear. Either way, I am very pleased.

Since it has become clear that I don't have the cash flow to build the addition to the house myself (constant money for materials needed coupled with my current lack of a pickup truck with which to transport them) I've decided to have someone else build it. What I'm going to do is having a modular house built right next to the current house, connect them with a short hallway and have the contractor leave the entire second floor unfinished so that I can do that myself over the course of a few years.

The situation with this house as it stands just cannot continue. We need a real kitchen. I don't want another year to go by like this.

'Modular' does not mean 'trailer home' by the way. It's standard frame construction just like any other house. 'Modular' just means that the house is built in sections in a big factory and then moved on flat bed truck to the site where they are assembled with a crane. It saves a lot of time and money because the sections of the house are built indoors in a controlled environment. Weather does not slow anything down and there is no time and money wasted on crews driving between a dozen different work sites to build the houses.

We're going this route because we'd have a finished house in 6 to 8 weeks, rather than the typical 6-8 months which it would normally take to build something of this size. I want my fucking kitchen and I want it now.

Anyway, I have dived completely into this thing. The $10k gives me room to rearrange some other monthly expenses that will allow me to finance the project painlessly. My dividend money will probably be used for the down payment. Right now I'm figuring out exactly what to build so that I have a final budget and can then set about organizing the financing in an intelligent way.


11:19 a.m. - 2007-09-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far