cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

October and November will Be Crazy

Well son of a bitch - this Saturday is the first day of deer season! Woo hoo! Except that it's only for archery. Rifle season doesn't start until mid November.

Still, I'm psyched. I'm going to see about borrowing a crossbow from someone and maybe getting myself a doe on Saturday morning. Only problem would be that it's supposed to be up to 80 degrees this weekend and I have a party to be at around noon. With temperatures that high, meat would spoil fast. I'd have to have that deer completely butchered and in the freezer by 11:30 am in order to be at the party on time. That's a pretty tall order. I don't think I'd have enough time to drive it over to the butcher on the other side of the county who will process deer for a nominal fee.

In nice cold weather, I could just field-dress it and hang it up in the backyard until the next day or whatever. Not an option in this weather.

Work is frustrating right now. Lots of spinning wheels and not enough results.

October is shaping up to be very busy. Between family being in town for visits, parties to go to, a canoeing trip to finish organizing and then actually take, plus perhaps some hunting. Ida's Halloween party (this was her idea that she refused to give up on and we finally relented). Then working on this latest plan for a house addition. My cup runneth over.

November will be even more nuts. Business trip out of state for 3 days, elk hunting for 5 days, try to get a wild turkey or a goose for Thanksgiving then Thanksgiving it's self.

December. Hunting season will march onward and there will be Christmas stuff to deal with. Maybe get a goose or a turkey for Thanksgiving.

Indeed, I'm looking at a very full schedule all the way to January. At which point I might be starting the actual construction of the new house. Either then or in March.

I am happy that things are thus. All of this is stuff that I asked for.

3:55 p.m. - 2007-10-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far