cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Showers

This morning I dropped Simon off at the vet before going to work. He was a very good boy in the car and very brave about being left there for the day. Hopefully they will get to him in time for Trish to take him home after picking Ida up from school this afternoon.

I think I will cook him a steak after work.
_________________________________

I really like being in the shower. During the worst periods of my life, the high point of my day was generally taking the longest, hottest shower that I could possibly get away with. Everything else in the world would disappear behind the curtain. I could just stand there all day.

It never really mattered how dingy a shower it was. The tattered curtain and rust-streaked tub of a shitty apartment in my late teens and early twenties. I had to take my glasses off before getting into the shower and without them I can't see a damned thing. With everything a sort of null, whitish blur, any dingy details were totally lost on me. All I was aware of was the hot water. Ignorance really was bliss.

Now I have contact lenses that are finally working out well enough. These are the extended wear sort that you keep in for a month straight without removing them. Nice as this is, it has soured my showering experience somewhat. The old tub in our charming 1920's shit box of a cottage bears the scars of decades of poor caulking and the hardware leaves much to be desired. With every clumsy detail presented to me in proper focus, a shower is not quite what it once was.

This is yet another reason why I am mad for a new addition to the house already. A new master bathroom with a dedicated shower stall.

I'm envisioning the sheer luxury of a single piece unit dedicated solely to showers. No seams for caulking to get stained or come undone. No clutter of children's tub toys to remove each morning. Just MY SHOWER that will be an oasis of sanity and hot water amid whatever chaos the rest of the house should descend into. I will be able to slide the door shut and everything else will cease to exist.

I recall stories of the shower that Lyndon Johnson supposedly had installed in the White House on his assumption of the Presidency. He doubled it's original size and ordered jets of water coming at him from every possible direction. Hot water hitting his body from above at several angles, from all 4 sides and allegedly he had a particularly hard jet on the floor that went right up his ass.

When Nixon moved in, he took one look at this historic work of surrealist plumbing and told the White House staff to clear all that shit out and turn it back into a regular shower again.

To hell with Watergate. This tragic act of vandalism alone should have been enough to shame Nixon out of office.

10:25 a.m. - 2007-10-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far