cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh no. It is his neck.

Oh no. I got excited too soon.

I spoke with the vet again a minute ago. They did X-rays and found that Simon has 2 calcified discs in his neck. Given the location of those calcified discs, it seems pretty damned likely that this is causing his partial paralysis by pinching the spinal cord.

He gave him an IV with cortisone. Odds are now 50/50 at best that that cortisone will reverse the paralysis. He'll get an oral dose tomorrow. If the cortisone has any effect then we'll continue with it. It is possible that giving him an oral dose of cortisone every day could keep him healthy indefinitely if it can only work in the first place.

If the cortisone does not work then the only option is surgery. Which I am certain would be very expensive. I have no idea how expensive. And I don't know what to do if it comes to that. Like, if it's $5,000 or something. I just don't have any way of getting that kind of money right now.

I don't know what to do. I was mentally all wrapped up in this being coonhound paralysis. I could have dealt with that. I *was* dealing with that. For a few hours. anyway. I can deal with nursing Simon for months until he can walk again. But I can't come up with thousands of dollars on short notice. And I can't deal with Simon dying. I can't accept that. I can't let him die just because I don't have the money. He would never do that to me if the situation was reversed.

5:15 p.m. - 2007-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far