cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rather Good News

Simon is improving. I talked to the vet about an hour ago and the steroids are working. Simon can now roll over from one side to another or lay on his chest/belly if he wants. He still isn't walking but one of the nurses says she saw him manage to stand up for a few seconds.

He had a shot yesterday and now he's on oral steroids. Over the next few days the steroids can continue to do more for him so he could be walking by Friday, which is when I should be able to take him home. He will be walking wobbly for a while but I don't care. I just want him to live and to be able to get around on his own feet.

He is supposed to come home on Friday. I can visit him tomorrow.

Yesterday I came home from work and it was just all wrong. No Simon there to greet me. Usually he runs up the driveway when he hears me coming. I get out of the car to open the front gate and then he hops in the car to ride down to the house with me.

Everything felt wrong without him there. Trish cooked meat for dinner and I didn't know what to do with the hunks of fat. My other 2 dogs are too overweight to give it to them. I sat there across from Trish after we finished. Sipping a beer. I thought about what Simon would be doing if he was there. Making his little grumble sound and giving me 'that look,' which means 'you finished eating your dinner 10 minutes ago and now it's time put the damned plate on the floor already.'

There's too much estrogen going on in the house right now. My wife, my daughter and the other 2 dogs have me too outnumbered. The baby is way too young to have any sort of real gender identity despite being male. I need Simon around.

Nobody told us when to go to bed last night so I ended up staying awake later than I should have. This is Simon's job. Simon tells me when we need to go to bed and he's always right.

Minnie sat there staring at the door for ages before I realized she had to go out. She doesn't bark or anything when she has to go. Simon tells me when she needs to go out. It's his job.

Without Simon around, everything goes to shit. He makes everything work. Plus he cleans Minnie's ears and keeps me warm at night. And guards Ida from bears, bobcats and coyotes when she is playing outside without a grownup.

It's like missing my right arm not having him there. I want him home.

12:55 p.m. - 2007-10-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far