cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

He's Coming Home Today.

After work yesterday I hunted for half an hour or so. No deer came within range but it was good to be out there anyway. Ida was screaming and begging me to take her with me. A couple days ago I brought her with me to scout for deer and now she's determined to go with me every time. She's not ready to come with me on a real hunt yet. She is still too loud and impatient. Walking through crunchy, dead leaves without making a sound is a skill that takes time to acquire. Then she forgets to whisper sometimes. Or will whisper a little too loud about something that didn't absolutely need to be said right at that moment.

Then when we are sitting in ambush she can't just sit still and wait. She has to get up and play. Which is fine. She's close to 4 years old. You cannot expect a 3 or 4 year old to sit perfectly still and silent for long stretches of time.

So I take her scouting with me sometimes and teach her all of the woodcraft that she will need one day when she has the patience for real hunting. She can find and recognize different animal tracks and scat. She knows which plants to avoid. She knows the differences between bucks and does and fawns. Understands what deer eat at different times of the year and where they are likely to be at a given time. This fall she'll get better at moving silently. It will be years before I can actually let her hold a rifle but meanwhile there is a lot more to hunting than just shooting.

Simon is coming home today. Finally. I am just desperate to get him all comfortable in the study. In nice, familiar surroundings.

Trish and I had a discussion last night. It seems that both of our parents have been cautioning her about spending too much money on treating Simon. She didn't say so explicitly, but it was very clear that she is in favor of having Simon 'put down' if the steroids don't work, rather than paying for the surgery. I told her in no uncertain terms that this would be about as likely as me putting the baby down after his head injury last spring. I will walk out the door and leave her before I kill my dog for her convenience. Simon would never abandon her like that. Or me. I don't care if I have to use all of the money that is supposed to go towards the new house. I would live in a fucking tipi with Simon rather than a mansion without him.

As long as Simon tells me that he wants to live, he lives.

I have serious doubts about Trish's character now that I see what her idea of loyalty is when the chips are down.

10:31 a.m. - 2007-10-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far