cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And I Feel Better Already

[Note: This was written yesterday but I was having computer problems and couldn't post it until today.]

The BMW is gone. I sold it on Saturday evening through Craigs List. I feel much better now.

It was fun to drive for the last year. The maintenance costs were just outrageous, however. For what I was paying to fix it every month I could have been just making the payments on a brand new BMW under full warranty.

The experience of selling it was just as odd as that of buying it. The person who bought it was an off-the-boat Chinese chick who brought her brother along to look at it with her. She tried to talk me way, way down and I wasn't having any of it. So I told her to just go think about it because I had other things to do and she could call me if she wanted the car. I ran my other errands in town and then went home.

A couple hours later I got a call saying that she wanted it. We arranged to meet back at the car (in an deserted parking lot) right around dusk.

So I get there a little early to finish clearing all my shit out of the car. Then right at twilight, this whole fucking Chinese armada pulls in. Her in a Toyota or something with someone else in the back seat. Then her brother in a brand new BMW 3 series with a couple of other people in that car with him. Followed by this pair of Japanese crotch rocket motorcycles with 2 guys on each bike.

The crotch rocket guys stayed on their bikes with the engines idling while the rest of the entourage hung back. The chick and her brother walk up to the car, I give her the key and show her the title. She asks for a receipt which I write out. The whole time, this entire gang is watching my every move. Of course, I'm armed to the teeth so whatever. I had a concealed .38 under my jacket and an SKS 2 steps away in the trunk of my other car. I could afford to be comfortable with this fucking weird situation in this dark, deserted parking lot where I'm handing off a BMW to some random Asian biker gang that I'd met on CL that morning.

I signed the title and handed it to her. She reaches into her pocket and pulls out this enormous wad of cash and hands it to me. It was the entire $1,600 in twenty dollar bills.

No wonder she brought the Crazy 88 along. She probably thought I was going to bop her over the head, take the cash and her passport and force her to clean hotel rooms for fifty cents an hour. Of course I would have had no problem taking a local check from a bank that I recognize.

Incidentally, I sold the car for such an insanely cheap price because it needed about $500 of work in order to be safe to drive again. Also if I hadn't sold it on the spot, I would have had to pay another $100 or so to get it towed. Add in my need/desire for extreme haste, the fact that the buyer could not drive the car before paying for it and the price made sense.

I went to the gun store on Saturday to buy broadheads for this crossbow and while I was there I asked what the hell is going on with the double barreled Steven 20 gauge shotgun I'd bought 2 fucking months ago and still didn't have. It turns out that the shotgun is ready and the lever is fixed. Well, why the fuck didn't somebody call me to say so? Anyway, I got to take it home and fondle it finally.

Most of my weekend was spent dealing with this car shit and with taking care of Simon. He and I are still figuring everything out. It's going as well as it could. As long as I am with him, he is pretty happy. If I leave, he cries sometimes. Yesterday he stood up and took a few steps. A good sign. He'd not done anything like that all week. I'm not demanding an instant miracle. Just steady, incremental progress like this.

I still don't have a new car to replace the BMW. Car Max was supposed to transfer over this ZX2 for me last Friday but these stupid fuck-wits have yet to actually do it. I'm getting pissed.

1:22 p.m. - 2007-10-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far