cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Spine for a Spine (Magic Works)

I did not meet my goal of 2 finished chapters over the weekend. Dealing with the deer was a lot of work that took up a lot of time. Then Alice figured out how to get through the back section of fence and I had to spend hours putting up chicken wire to keep her from escaping.

However, I do have a dozen pages or so of decent material. I printed it out to take with me lunch and I edited while I ate my pizza. It's a good start.

The deer smelled sort of like a horse, by the way. A musky, heavy odor. Like horse with a whiff of cow.

It occurred to me that I traded a spine for a spine on Friday night. The very instant that I pulled the trigger, 2 things happened. First the bullet smashed through the deer's upper lungs and shattered it's spine, causing it to instantly collapse because of paralysis. The second thing was that the sound of the gun shot prompted Simon to suddenly get up and run into the bathroom after weeks of being paralyzed due to a damaged spine.

This is a very magic-y sort of a thing. Then consider the fact that the act of successfully killing this deer was a moment I have worked for and hoped for since about 3 years ago. I wanted this very much but not as much as I wanted Simon to be miraculously cured. And both of those things happened instantly when I pulled the trigger. A spine for a spine. Killing the deer unleashed some crazy, backed-up tidal wave of positive energy.

Then look at the third thing that happened - it rained! That very same day! It had rained about a quarter of an inch for the first time in about 6 weeks. Then after I gutted the deer and went inside to cook the liver for the dogs, it poured! I've been desperate for rain for weeks and weeks. We all have been.

Yeah, the more I think about it, this was inadvertent magic on the order of the incident with the bird.

Magnificent.

Oh, and now there is a mysterious $80 in my bank account which I cannot account for it's origins. That grammar is correct, by the way. Just very archaic.

Here's what I've decided; I bottomed out recently. I had one of the worst weeks of my life. And then everything turned around completely as soon as I did a few decisive, magically-oriented things. I got rid of the BMW and I shot the deer.

Magic works. It does. I keep doing it again and again and it keeps working. And people tell me that this is irrational and unscientific of me. But really I am the one being scientific. Repeatedly I do the experiments and repeatedly they succeed.

2:47 p.m. - 2007-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far