cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Friday Update

Oh, lovely. I just got an envelope in the mail yesterday from the DMV informing me that my license has been suspended due to the alleged failure to pay the fine for that speeding ticket back in July. Which is a complete crock of shit. I paid that ticket. Now I have the whole fun of finding a copy of the canceled and getting into this whole stupid mess with the Clerk of the Court for that county and then the whole shit with the DMV. What fun.

Meanwhile, obviously I have to drive anyway. I live 12 miles outside of town and there is no public transportation or anything like that available. I couldn't possibly afford to have a cab come all the way out there and back every day. So I will simply have to break the law and drive on a suspended license. Great.

Last night after work I had a couple drinks with that documentary film maker who wants to interview me and whatever else. Seems ok. Typical documentary film maker type, based on the others I have met. Nice enough guy but a bit more gooey or whatever than I like to encounter in a dude who I have just met. Too much talk about 'opening up' and shit. He paid for my beer and nachos, so I'm happy with the evening. We're going to set something up for filming in early December. This is supposed to be on PBS at some point in the next few years.

Trish's car is finally getting fixed. Bob (her father) is dropping off the new starter today and we're going to pull out the old one and install this one on Saturday. As car repairs go, this is a fairly simple one so long as you can get at the part without having to take apart half the car.

This weekend I also have to inventory and packed for the elk hunting trip next week. Wow. I can't believe this crept up on me so soon. I was really hoping to get an inflatable mattress and a collapsible camouflaged blind for this trip, which together would set me back about $100. But the money just isn't going to appear in time. Ah well. I can live without those things. I do need to learn how to use my GPS properly before I leave. I'm glad I was able to get that. And I'm pretty confident in my rifles that I've chosen to bring.

I wonder if I could make a folding cot to bring? I've got a fair bit of canvas around somewhere. Stitch the sides of a sheet of canvas into long loops that a pair of poles slide through. Then attach two pieces of wood into an 'X' shape with a single bolt allowing the X to be folded into a straight line or back into an X. One end of each piece of the X attaches to the ends of the poles. Make 2 of these X's, one for each end of the thing, and you've got yourself a collapsible cot. It would still be 7 feet long even when collapsed, but I could still stow it in my canoe.

This is an idea not without merit.

We've only got a couple of steaks left in the freezer. I need to get another deer on Saturday morning. The venison I cooked last night was fucking awesome. I did a really good job with the aging of all this meat. I gave some to my parents and they assumed it was tenderloin because it was so tender and flavorful, but really it was just some random flank steak I'd cut. I made the entire yield of meat taste like the best cuts.

Trish's father got a doe yesterday. He's been hunting all his life and has taken more deer probably than I ever will. But he's sloppy with his butchering. He just gutted it and left it out back all day and all last night because he didn't feel like butchering yet. We had a hard frost last night so the meat has gone through a freeze-thaw cycle, which will not exactly improve the taste. He's butchering it this afternoon, which for him consists of carving the meat up into roasts and putting them into the freezer right away. The result of this approach, every year, is a lot of tough, gamey meat that is only fit for stews or very well-cooked roasts that will still be on the tough side. Bah. A waste of good meat.

So anyway, I've got to get up before dawn on Saturday morning to see about getting a deer as the sun comes up. We need food.

11:36 a.m. - 2007-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far