cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mmmm. Venison Jerky

Last night I made a bunch of venison jerky. Well, I did half of the work anyway. Carving up an entire forequarter into jerky strips, making the teriyaki marinade and putting the strips in to soak. The carving took a long time but wasn't too much trouble. I had to cut out every little bit of fat and connective tissue and make sure that every slice was no more than 1/4 inch thick.

Then I put it all in the fridge to marinate for 20 hours. When I get home I'll set everything up to start drying it on low heat in the oven. I bet this will be really good.

Ida has demanded that I play Monopoly with her for the last few evenings. Which I have gamely done. It is not easy trying to teach a child who is still not quite 4 years old how to play Monopoly. She still doesn't really get it but she is getting a little better at counting and learning about money. So the endeavor isn't a total loss.

I'm amazed at how long she can keep her attention on it. Like, over an hour at a time. Playing a game that she only very dimly understands with all sorts of mysterious cards and counting and arcane rules. It was only after about 2 hours of play that she asked how we will know if anyone wins.

The first time she passed 'go', I handed her the $200 and she looked at me and said "no thank you. I don't want it."

I should come up with some simplified, children's version of the game for her.


12:51 p.m. - 2007-11-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far