cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

48 Hours to go

In 48 hours I will be making camp in elk country. Woo hoo! Farrell can't come as it turns out. He's stuck in the office ensuring that the legal world has immediate access to the municipal code of such-and-such city in Quebec or something. He might join us mid-way, however. We'll see.

I've not gotten shit done today at work. I need to hustle tomorrow in preparation for being gone.

Tonight I have all manner of messing about with meat to do. Finish the jerky and finish and package half a backstrap that I promised to my parents.

Trish and I have both noticed that we are in slightly better shape, physically, since switching to eating venison to the exclusion of all other meat. There's basically no fat in venison. We've eaten a lot of meat for the last few years. What little amount of fat I had previously (invisible to anyone except myself, I think) has been reduced since making the switch. And I might actually have to ask Trish to start eating more fat, since her ass is starting to get a little small for my taste.

I feel neither bloodthirsty nor guilty for the killing. Of these deer that we've been eating. There is an excitement in that minute or less leading up to the shot, but it's not a matter of being bloodthirsty. The sight of the deer going down offers a satisfaction at a job properly done, but I don't relish it. It's strange; I don't really feel anything negative when the animal dies. Pleased and grateful is all.

Tomorrow is pay day. I really, really hope that my $10k bonus is tacked on there. However, odds are that he forgot and I won't get it until the end of December. I need money to buy some more food for the trip and an air mattress would be nice as well.

4:03 p.m. - 2007-11-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far