cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Lovely Thanksgiving Weekend

It was a nice Thanksgiving. Ida had a good time. All was well. I spent most of the 4 day weekend playing with her and the baby.

My brother and his wife came over on Friday night, as did Trish's sister and her husband, Adam. This was the first time my brother and his wife had met Adam. Adam is a Linux geek so he and my brother got on just fine. It seems that he worships a bunch of people who my brother and I grew up with who are apparently a big deal in the Linux world. Snore.

After my brother and his wife left, Adam started talking about cock and couldn't stop. I knew he was supposed to be a little bit bi, but this was out of control. Every subject came back to dick one way or another. He was also constantly trying to look down Trish's shirt. Which is fine. He can look and even touch all he wants, so long as I can return the favor by fucking his wife.

Yesterday I got a deer. Shhh! It was on Sunday, when legally one is not allowed to hunt in this state. However, since I learned WHY that law is on the books, I no longer have any respect for it. Last year the state department of game and inland fisheries had hearings on getting rid of the ban on Sunday hunting. The only people to lobby against is were far-right evangelical Christians. Even PETA didn't show up. It was just the fundamentalist Christian kooks who showed up en masse and loudly proclaimed that everyone should be in church on Sunday.

So yeah, I have no more intention of obeying that law than I would a law that required me to refrain from speaking loudly or doing work around the house on the Sabbath. Nobody gets to force me to follow their religion. The evangelicals can just go fuck themselves.

Anyway, I got a deer and I'll leave out the whole story of the event. I will however be posting a complete description of that hunt later on for my own personal future reference, with a warning at the top for people to not bother reading it.

I think this might be my last one for the season. At the end of this week I'm supposed to be FINALLY getting my $10k bonus. We should be pretty well set financially for a while after that. Certainly into March, when my dividend check will appear for even more money than that. I've been hunting so diligently these last few months because we have desperately needed the food. Once we have money for groceries again, I'd actually like to take a break.

Gutting and quartering and butchering. Ugh. I hate it. I really hate it. Well, butchering isn't so bad after the meat has been aged. But everything before that is just fucking gross. And a little bit sad. I mean, I've just killed something that wanted to live. I have very good reasons for doing it but that doesn't change the fact that the whole thing is distasteful to varying degrees.

Without getting into the details, I had my first moment of weirdness yesterday after shooting a doe. It wasn't me flipping out about having killed something - I am very comfortable with the fact that I'm doing this out of need - but it was just a weird thing that happened which drove home the whole reality of what this thing is all about.

Right now we probably have a good 40 pounds or so of meat in the fridge. That will last us a good while. At least through the end of December, I should think.

I don't want to have to think about food and thus meat as much as I have been lately. I'm sick of dealing with it for the time being. I just want to be able to buy it and eat it and that will be that.

3:41 p.m. - 2007-11-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far