cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ida at Present

There is a boy at Ida's school who has a crush on her. He is in another class and tells his mother every day that he wishes she was in his class. He can never quite get up the nerve to talk to her or play with her at recess/playground time. I think he's almost 5. A year older than her.

She is very popular, Ida is. Very pretty, intelligent and usually in charge among her peers. I have not raised her to be timid. I have tried to teach her to decide how she thinks that things should be and then set about making them that way. She is very bold. Always wears pretty dresses. I can almost never get her to wear pants. She knows how to use tools. Helps me make beer. Knows how to cook a steak right (she usually makes the marinade).

I believe that Ida is turning out to be a rather accomplished little girl.

Oh, wow. Right while I was typing that, I got a phone call from her. She asked me to pick up some chocolate cups on my way home. She means Reeses peanut butter cups. Ok. Will do.

I was going to write a whole thing here about memories of being 5 years old. About what it was like when a girl in my class was about to move away. I'd never given her much thought before, but suddenly she seemed like this major fixture and it seemed a tragedy of the most epic proportions that Samantha was going to move away. However, I cannot possibly give this state of mind better treatment than Allan Moore did in 'The Birth Caul.'

4:23 p.m. - 2007-12-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far