cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3 Words: Forest Animal Hoe-Down.

Whee! I have Supergold again. I'm adding this entry via email. Awesome.

Has anyone heard this Billie Holiday remix album? It's fucking awesome. There is this one track on it, 'Spreadin' the Rhythm Around' that I have a full idea in my head for the perfect video to go with it.

3 words: Forest animal hoe-down. Or is 'hoe-down' really 2 words? Whatever. The point is, I want to hear this song with a bunch of early 40's style cartoon forest animals having a hoe-down in the woods. With that slightly jerky, rhythmic kind of motion that those cartoons often had, where there's like 30 things or animals moving around in the frame doing various things. I'm seeing Billie Holiday represented by a goose singing into an old-fashioned square microphone while all the other animals are dancing.

This is the kind of thing I'm talking about:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=zwco6G-iv8s&feature=related http://youtube.com/watch?v=xOx02I9Bz6o

The blacksmith came over again on Sunday afternoon and we shot clays. A very, very lot of clays. I went through 2 boxes of target loads I had for my 20 gauge pump action, ran out and switched to my field loads that I keep around for doves and such. Ran out of those, dug up a box of 12 gauge target loads and switched to my 12 gauge pump action. Ran through all of the target loads and had to go back inside and dig out 2 boxes of high-power turkey loads. Fortunately we finally ran out of clay discs to throw or else I would have ended up staring pretty hard at my boxes of steel shot for waterfowl hunting that cost, like, 0 a box.

It was especially fun because it was really, really windy. A big tree fell behind my house, fortunately not damaging anything. I have a mechanical skeet-thrower and when the wind would catch the clay (a clay is like a little orange frisbee made out of hardened clay. They cost about for a crate of 90 and are designed to be blasted out of the air with a shotgun) it would do all kinds of bizarre shit. Like sudden shoot straight up 20 feet, or zig zag and come back over our heads. It was nuts. Incredibly challenging shooting. Both of us are getting much better with the practice we've been getting. Starting out, I was hitting maybe 6 out of 10. By the time we were done I was breaking 10 out of 10 pretty consistently.

I gave Paul (the blacksmith) a spare Mauser I had laying around on account that he doesn't own a modern rifle of any kind. He has actually forged parts for flintlock rifles, including barrels. Now he's thinking of getting into a bit of gun smithing and an old Mauser is really the perfect thing to learn on. He's put in a hell of a lot of a lot of time into forging this custom butt plate for me and I wanted to give him something in return. It only cost me 5 or so wholesale a year or 2 ago, but the wholesale supply has dried up and it would retail for around 00 in most gun shops now. So it's not an inconsiderable item of trade. I want to see if I can get him to make a matching fore-end tip for the other end of the stock as well but I haven't brought it up yet. They guy is just really good with making metal be shaped exactly the way that you want it to be.

Old Mausers are just plain fun to mess with. It's the same concept as having an old car in the garage that you're hot-rodding. It's fair to call them a bona fide creative medium.

11:38 - 2008-02-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far