cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Annapolis/Hippopotamus

I've got a business trip tomorrow. Lot's of driving by myself. 300 miles round trip. I'm going up around Annapolis for the day. I have 3 meetings scheduled in the area and I just hope that I don't get lost and end up horribly late and fuck everything up. I have to be out the door at 6 am. Fuck that. Obviously I have to find a way of going to bed early tonight. That's not easy in a very small house with 2 little kids around. I have high hopes that the drive might be pleasant, given that I have several CDs full of a book on tape that Farrell ripped for me. What's got me psyched for this is the fact that I get a 00 bonus for every one of these meetings that I set up and complete. Plus mileage reimbursement for using my own car.

I get the mileage reimbursement money right away on Wednesday morning, which is actually the whole reason why I set all of these up in Annapolis. The farther that I drive, the more money I'll get the next day. Being in rather sore need of money, I looked at the farthest population center where we have business clients that I could possibly drive to in time for a whole series of meetings during normal business hours. Hence Annapolis. I could just as easily have chosen Richmond, which is less than an hour away. But then I'd be getting a check for 0 instead of 60.

Hopefully my suit is ok. I really ought to get one of them dry cleaned before this trip but I seriously do not have the cash.

Hey, I have exactly 666 messages in my spam folder on Gmail.

Time for lunch. Venison, of course. It's a damned good thing that I've turned out to like venison because that is what we have been eating for 5 straight months now. Literally, 3 or 4 times a week. We have not bought any red meat at the grocery store since September. It's like, we don't even approach it as venison anymore. I mean, if someone served you a plate full of hippopotamus meat you would feel really weird eating it. Even if you really liked it (which most people would, actually. Hippo is supposed to be delicious), you would be thinking about the fact that this is a hippopotamus the whole time you were eating it. That's what it was like eating venison at first. But most people do not have such thoughts while eating a cheeseburger. We are so accustomed to eating beef that the fact of this having been a cow never enters our minds while we eat the cheeseburger. That's where my family is with venison now. It's just a staple food item.

One of Ida's teachers asked her what her favorite food was. Naturally she said 'deer steak.' So the teacher then makes the mistake of asking Ida where she got deer steak.

"Well," says Ida, "first you have to go and shoot the deer in the woods. Then you hang it up and you skin it with a knife. Then you cut it into pieces and you make the deer steak with the pieces."

It's really not the kind of thing that the teachers or students at her French language preschool (catering mostly to families of French professors and other employees at the University) expect to hear out of a 4 year old's mouth.

I think I'd be pretty ok with hippo meat as a household staple. I've read that hippo meat tastes like the best beef you could imagine. If I lived in Africa I would be all over that shit. I'd get a couple of chest freezers and shoot one hippo a year. It would take that long for a family of 4 to get through it. Boy, what a bitch that would be to butcher by yourself. An entire hippopotamus.

13:26 - 2008-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far