cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lumber

Ok, it's going to cost me ,500 for all of the lumber to finally get the workshop dried in. Well, ,600 with the delivery fee. That doesn't include nails but does include 50 for salvaged windows and doors.

I'm figure a salvaged front door will cost me 00 and a pair of windows for each end will be 00. Then I want one big window for the view out the back wall, but I don't think that one needs to open. Just let in light. So I figure I'll just get a big piece of glass (maybe salvaged from something or other). I'll take four pieces of kiln-dried 1x2 wood and rout out a slot down their lengths that the glass can fit in. then I'll glue and bracket them all together in a big square clamped around the glass. Then take some much thinner strips of wood and fasten those against the edges of the glass and frame as stops. Run a bead of silicon sealant around all the edges, prime and paint the wooden parts. Voila! Nice big picture window for less than 0. It won't be double insulated or filter UV rays or anything fancy like that, but this is for a workshop so that doesn't much matter.

When I actually have building materials, I work pretty fast for an amateur. The whole foundation and joists phase took me only something like 2 and a half days of labor, spread out a bit in drips and drabs after work. I never imagined that the work would then go on hold for almost an entire year after that. But that's what a lack of cash and a lack of a way to haul plywood sheets will get you.

17:37 - 2008-02-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far