cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring has Sprung

Last night I got a good blowjob. Finally I actually came in her mouth without having to fuck her face. It was very satisfying.

Today I'm sending my Mauser off to the gunsmith. And after work I'm ordering the lumber to finish my workshop. I am terribly excited.

Oh, another neat thing; DSL is finally going to be available at my house. One of our ultra-rich neighbors paid through the nose to get the cable run out to our area and now we can just tap into that.

It's spring!

I like building things out of wood. It's very satisfying. Big things. Decks and porches and small buildings.

Hey, since I've got the money at the moment and I'm going to be engaging in another big phase of construction, I should buy a framing nailer for my air tool setup. Right now I have a compressor and a light nailer for finish work. What with the tendonitis in my right arm, swinging a hammer for very long becomes quite painful and difficult. A big nail gun would be very helpful.

There had better be nothing happening this weekend. I don't want to go anywhere or do anything except stay home and either clean or build, depending on when my lumber delivery happens.

Oh! I found a source of parts to fix the mower deck on my tractor, too. The only problem now is that I've had that shit disassembled for so long that I'm not sure I can remember how it goes back together.

I want to do a bit of gardening and landscaping. Most of my spare time will be taken up with construction but we really need some attention paid to the landscape. Again, the problem is that I no longer have a truck and cannot simply haul in a load full of mulch and some old railroad ties or whatever. In just half a day I could totally transform the front of the house. Nothing too elaborate. Just a basic improvement.

When I get around to putting in the first proper garden, I should make it something small and enclosed with a high fence or hedge. The property is 6 acres with about 4 of those acres in open meadow. This makes it hard to get started. If I put all the effort I could into building a really great ornamental garden in the space of, say, 200 square feet, it would still have extremely little effect. Because visually you'd still have all of the sort of nothing space right there in front of you while you were in the garden. So I think that I need to build a little walled enclosure somewhere. Then after all of my effort, there will be a very real sense of place resulting.

I am good at that shit. I really am. I spent a year as a historic landscape gardener while I was in school and I got very good at it. Plus before that, I took classes in arbor work at Hampshire. I learned how to build greenhouses and I pruned some huge number of apple trees. This is part of why I've always wanted a piece of land this size in a rural area. To have this huge palate to work with over the years and not have any neighbors or local officials bitching about things being half done for a while. Like if I build a 200 sq ft walled garden out of brick and the wall is going to be 5 feet high, that would be a total of 60 running feet of wall. It would probably take me a couple of years to finish, since I am not a professional brick layer and thus I work slowly when I do brick masonry. I'd be going at it for probably 1 or 2 days a month since I have a million other things to deal with. You can't get away with that in your front yard when you live in the suburbs. Trust me, I spent 6 months or so building a matching pair of brick and mortar 4'x4' planters that were 2' high on either side of the walkway at my old house. I put a pair of dwarf peach trees in them and they looked lovely. But neighbors started bitching after the first month over the fact that it wasn't done yet.

My garden in that house was really quite nice. Not as fabulous as what I did at the rental house before that. In the rental house I went all out and put in slate walkways and constructed these carefully planned lines of sight where there was a blooming rose bush that you only got to see from a distance as you came up a certain walkway. That sort of thing. I built a little bench out of salvaged teak that was exactly the right size to sit on in the hosta garden on a summer morning and have coffee. With a little slate patio under it. The owner of the house still sings my praises every time I bump into her. I didn't mind the fact that I put the money and work into a rental that I moved out of, since I had so much fun building it and the owner was a good friend of my father's anyhow.

11:55 - 2008-03-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far