cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Nirvana of Labor

I continue to have a massive appetite throughout this whole construction process. I looked it up online, did the math for my age, weight and height and used the 'heavy manual labor' multiplier and found that I now need to be eating at least 3,500 calories per day. Nice. I rather like food. Now that I need so much more of it, I like it even more.

The work has been good for my arms and shoulders. It's not doing anything for my abs. Other than that it isn't a bad work-out.

I like the kind of tired that I am after I am finished working. It isn't the sort of dull tiredness one gets after a long day at the office. It is being tired, sore, hungry and dirty all at once. So I go inside and take off my tool belt. I immediately drink a beer because I have earned it. I stuff whatever food is present into my mouth and I wash it down with the cold beer. Whatever the food is, it is delicious. Yesterday's pizza heated up in the microwave. Whatever. It's going to be good whatever it is. Then I either take a shower or draw a hot bath if I am sore enough. I soak and scrub off the construction adhesive that has caked onto my hands. Probably I drink another beer while I am in the bath tub. The water is very hot, making the beer feel especially cold.

After getting out of the bath I am bright red from sunburn and from the hot water. There is no longer any question of doing anything else at all. I walk straight to the bedroom, lay down under the covers and make a pretense of reading before falling asleep within minutes, no matter how early it is.

Altogether, this is a very satisfying way of ending one's day. We are really at our happiest when we are relieved. When the itch is scratched. When some basic need of the body demands to be filled right this instant and then it is done and one feels so much better. A day of heavy manual labor creates a laundry list of these needs and thus the opportunity to sate all of them at once and be completely happy.

If only I could get a blowjob while I was in the bath tub, I think that something not very far from nirvana could be achieved.

13:00 - 2008-03-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far