cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Joining Up Would Be Fun

I've been thinking lately about how much fun ROTC was. It really was great. Lots of exercise, fun field trips, interesting challenges. I loved it.

What kept me out of the actual army was the fact that I only have one kidney. This was back in 1997-'98. However, things are different now. They are fucking desperate and will waive things like a missing kidney. What I am thinking is that if Barack Obama gets us the fuck out of Iraq and restores the National Guard to it's proper status as, you know, the National Guard, then it might not be such a bad idea to think about joining up.

One weekend a month, 2 weeks a year. Only getting called up in the event of an actual emergency when the country is under attack or there has been a natural disaster, riot, etc. If Obama makes that be the deal with the Guard again, then I might actually consider enlisting.

Of course, I would not be going in as an officer, as I'd intended when I was in ROTC. But who knows? I'm smart and capable enough to rise as an NCO and maybe get sent to OCS eventually. I like fiddling with firearms and would make a good armorer or gunnery sergeant. I'd have access to a good shooting range and all of the free ammunition that I care to shoot.

I have no desire to get shipped off to Iraq and shoot people for no good reason on behalf of a bunch Republican morons. However, if I could be certain that I'd be serving under a Democrat who is going to have me in a purely defensive role, doing things like providing disaster relief, putting down riots or defending against some theoretical invasion, then I would be more than happy to join the National Guard.

Leaving work for 6 weeks for Basic Training would be a bit awkward, however.

13:26 - 2008-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far