cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It is Very Spring

The walls are almost completely done! I just have one little 18 inch section of wall to build. At a glance, the walls look finished. And before dusk tonight, they will be.

This is so rad.

Lessee, what else? I look totally hot today. It's finally quite warm and I can wear just a t-shirt. I'm getting to be in pretty good shape again on account of all the construction work. I have not an ounce of excess fat and my arms are toning up from swinging hammers and what-not.

I'd do me.

Somehow I'm still not aging. I don't get it. Twice in the last week I have bought beer and been given the serious hairy eyeball by the cashier after I got carded. Like, they suspect that I couldn't possibly be 21 and the ID must be fake. Although if I look close, I can see some more gray hairs coming in. Finally.

It is very spring. I was nailing a wall together yesterday after work and I looked over at the treeline behind the fence at a couple of smallish trees. They were covered with what looked like yellow polka dots which I swear were not there at all the day before. The yellow polka dots were, of course, teensy little buds of leaves that have only just started to come out. By now, enough light has hit them that the chlorophyll is doing it's thing and when I get home they will be green polka dots.

Lots of trees and bushes have a thin, green veil over them now. The hardwoods are still lagging, as they do. They are a conservative bunch, hardwoods. Never half so willing to trust in early spring as the soft woods are. Except for the maples, which are covered with red flower buds. The oaks will probably be the last to leaf out.

Before I started building yesterday, I helped Ida set up a little tiny flowerbed at her insistence. No more than 2 square feet. We planted one dahlia bulb and one flox rhizome. She saw them for sale at the grocery store and begged Trish to buy them for her.

I'm in rather a good mood all around.

11:06 - 2008-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far