cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back in Shape

This is an obnoxious day at work. I am so ready for it to be over.

Both kids are sleeping over at my parents house tonight. A very, very rare thing. First of all, they almost never offer. Second, even though Ida sleeps over at Trish's parents place a couple night a month, the baby never does. We have that 'Enchantment Under the Sea' dance to go to tonight. It's a 'Back to the Future' theme, of course. It doesn't start until 10 pm so I will also get to put in a few hours of construction work.

I had to skip yesterday because I didn't get home until close to 8 pm on account of that business trip. It's just as well, since my muscles need a day of recovery and reconstruction every few days in order to improve. Both of my shoulders are still really sore, which is a good thing. It means I really worked them on Wednesday.

Oh, you know what I'm going to do as soon as I have the ceiling joists in? I'm going to hang my punching bag. I haven't been able to really hit the bags in ages. No place to hang one. It's good exercise and I suppose it keeps me quick and sharp in the extremely unlikely event that there should be a need to punch somebody very hard. The last time I was in the habit was in our old house where I hung a small bag in my basement workshop. I had to stop on account of an especially brutal carpal tunnel tendon flare-up in my right hand.

I miss being able to go totally crazy with calisthenics and punching bags. Too many injuries to my right arm over the 5 or 6 years for that. The broken bone in my hand, the carpel tunnel thing, the tennis elbow. I can't really push myself any more. There was a time when I was literally doing push-ups in sets of 100, 10 times a day. A total of 1,000 push-ups daily. Right now I bet I'd have to stop at 40 to a set, absolute maximum. Feh. If I tried to get back to that old pace of 1,000 per day, I'd re-injure myself and end up doing zero push-ups.

It'd be nice to have room in the workshop for a weight bench but I just don't think it would work out.

This year I want to go into hunting season in better physical shape than I was this past season. First of all it's good to have high endurance so that one can hike farther and faster to get into really wild back country. More importantly, when you actually do get a deer, that thing has to be hauled back to camp or to the right spot in the backyard or whatever. A dead deer is heavy. Especially if you have to move it before it's gutted. We're talking anywhere from 100-200 pounds. Try dragging something like that for half a mile, up hill most of the way. Any deficiencies in one's physical condition will become very apparent, very quickly. It *sucked* dealing with a couple of heavier deer last year. I really could have used more upper body strength.

11:23 - 2008-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far