cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stalled Out at the Ridge Board

Cynthia is so fucking stupid. Just stupid, stupid, stupid. I can explain something incredibly simple 500 times and she fucks it up . Like, fails to understand extremely basic concepts. I'm not going to bore everyone with the details of the latest examples but suffice to say that I am shocked that someone can really be so very deeply stupid and manage to live as long as she has. Like, you'd think she'd have tried to make toast in the bathtub decades ago.

Sigh.

I got a lot done this past weekend. Probably about 14 total hours of labor. The sheathing is all finished and the ceiling joists are all installed. I've got some sheathing and a piece of subfloor tacked up there temporarily to have something to walk around on and keep the rain out. At this point I'm stalled out on major work because I don't have enough 2x6 material for the ridgeboard of the roof. I'm a few 2x6s short of what I intended on account of having needed to sacrifice some to use for headers while I was framing the walls. This sucks. Actually, if I just had one more then it would be enough.

It's clear that I'm going to have to order a little more lumber to finish the project anyhow. I think that I need 8 more panels of roof sheathing and at least 3 more sheets of subfloor. Plus lumber to build the porch and stairs. Bah. I hate building stairs. You would not believe how complicated even very simple-looking stairs can be to build. I may cheat this time and buy pre-cut stringers.

Today I am taking the afternoon/evening off from construction work. Probably the rest of this week I can spend just doing small things. Setting that last supplemental post that I've been putting off. Attaching some extra Simpson connectors between the supplemental beams and the joists. Flashing the rough openings with roofing felt and installing the windows and door. That's about 6 hours of work, or 3 days of laboring after getting home until sunset. I think that I should be able to arrange a lumber delivery for Friday or Saturday and then get back to building the roof.

Being up on top of the building is a strange thing. It's surprisingly high. The first time I stood up there I realized that I am definitely going to have to put in a window on each gable end. The view is just not to be missed. I wish I could put in a 2 foot high knee wall so that I will be able to stand up in the middle of the attic but then I'd be buying more materials and spending more money and you've got to draw the line somewhere. All I need out of the attic is a neat little place to climb up to and have a futon and some extra storage. 5 feet high in the middle is enough for that.

The following list is something I'm just typing up for my own reference. Sorry.

Front porch and steps:

6"x6" PT posts, 8' long - 2 2"x8" PT beams, 8' long - 2 2"x6" PT joists, 8' long - 5 1/2"x6" PT planks, 8' long - 5 4x4 PT posts for railings, 8' long - 2 2x4 PT for railing tops and bottoms - 4 1 roll of rat wire (to be painted black) to enclose railings Stair stringers - 3 Stair treads - 4 (?) 3 bags concrete

Additional materials for roof:

3/8" sheathing - 8 5/8" subfloor - 4 16d nails - 5 lbs 12' long 2x6 - 2 2x4 studs for gable ends - 6 Small windows, non-opening ok - 2 (for gable ends) 4 rolls of roofing felt 1 box of roofing nails

Damn. That is a lot of shit there. I'm estimating the front porch and steps at two hundred twelve bucks. That's just for a 4x4 porch, stairs and railing on one side; leaving the bigger porch on the side for later. Two hundred thirty for the extra stuff to finish the roof.

11:39 - 2008-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far