cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eureka!

Eureka!

I know how to build an arch-shaped bridge in place of stairs to get into the front door of the workshop. My problem, as I'd written here recently, is that I had no clue where in the hell I could get curved framing members to nail the decking on to.

Ok, here it is: 3/4" plywood. Preferably exterior grade. I can buy 4 sheets, each of which is 8'x4' and cut out the silhouette bow shape of each beam. Normally one would use 2x8s or 2x10s for a span like that, so I'd just have to draw each outline with a 10 inch width and then double up 2 pieces together, securely gluing and bolting them to each other for a total thickness of 1.5", which also happens to be the actual thickness of a nominal 2-by-whatever. I would only have to cut out 4 of these things.

The total rise is a little less than 4 feet, so I should be able to get the complete length of the bridge in one piece. This evening I should start scribbling on a 4x8 piece of sheathing or whatever to see if it's really going to work.

Huh. I just did a sketch in Paint and I'm not so sure. I think that the first 3 steps or so would be so steep as to be hard to climb in icy weather. It's still a good technique for framing curved things in general.

If I go with stairs, I am tempted to have them run parallel to the building with a quick left turn when you get to the top. Because in the first place it would look better and in the second place it would eliminate the need for a complicated railing on the left side (since the side of the building is right there and there's no place to fall). However, I have to wonder if this would make it more difficult to move large objects in and out of the building in the future. A straight shot could be easier for getting big sheets of plywood or sections of lumber in and out. It is going to be a workshop for a few years after all.

Oh, this is so weird. Mandy just asked Cynthia what her gmail address is and Cynthia says 'I don't have one.' She's lying. I see her logged into gmail all the fucking time. I hear the little gmail chat sound nearly every day. In fact, I have an email that came from her gmail account last year.

What. The. Fuck. In fact, we use Google calender at work, meaning that she HAS to have a gmail address to look at that every day. She's just straight-up lying. Why would she do that? I have no reason to call her on this in front of other people, but she is definitely lying.

Of course, she's also pretty stupid. Maybe that's what's going on here.

16:44 - 2008-04-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far