cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Roof is Finally Taking Shape

At long last, the ridge board is up and it is magnificent. I nailed a cedar bough to the center of it, per ancient Germanic tradition.

After it was up I put tarps over top the ridge board to keep rain out. The tarps create a temporary gabled roof. Sitting in there under the tarps one gets a pretty good idea of what it's going to be like in that loft when the roof is done. It's a cozy little space. Ida can stand up in the middle but an adult has to sit. It will be just fine for putting a futon or 2 in there and setting it up as a little sleeping loft. I'll have windows at each end that actually open, rather than the fixed pane I'd considered before. In case we need to use it during the summer, it will be hot as hell up there unless the windows open for a cross-draft. I can put a little fan at one end and keep it quite comfortable, I'm sure. I've also got some window AC units in the storage shed and I could install one easily enough if necessary.

Today after work I have to do all this messing around with T-bevels and string and various measurements to try to cut a sample rafter. If I can get a perfect sample rafter finished before the weekend then I'll be happy. It's supposed to rain on Saturday, but I'm thinking that the tarps will keep things dry enough in the workshop that I can at least spend the day in there cutting rafters and then hopefully install them on Sunday if the weather clears up.

I have a bunch of sex things to write about, too. But I have to go move my car from a 2 hour space and pick up a package at the UPS place.

10:54 - 2008-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far