cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Barbecue Recipe

Sometimes I use this diary as a place to store random bits of information that I might want to refer to many years in the future. Every now and then I put a recipe in here, which is what I'm going to do below. Sorry if this makes for a terribly boring entry.

This is the recipe for barbecued beef ribs that I'd mentioned last week. I made it again yesterday.

First the sauce/marinade:

1/4 cup of 'Free Union Fire' hot sauce (my father makes it out of hot peppers and vinegar and some other stuff) 1 tablespoon of lemon juice 1/4 cup of worcestershire sauce a little less than a 1/4 cup of soy sauce A couple big squirts of terriyaki sauce 6 tablespoons of sugar (I used white but brown would probably be better) A whole bunch of ground pepper 1/2 tsp paprika 1 tsp garlic powder Around a quarter cup or so of peach preserves. Peach jelly would probably work.

Heat the peach preserves up in the microwave or on a stove top so that it will mix properly with the other ingredients. Mix all that stuff up and coat the ribs completely with the sauce. Let them marinate in the fridge for 2 hours. When it's time to cook the ribs, pour off the excess marinade into another container, since you're going to use it for barbecue sauce on the ribs later. Since it has been in contact with raw meat, heat it up to a boil very briefly in order to kill off any e. coli or what have you.

I don't have a proper smoker, so I cook the ribs on a Weber type grill. Gather up a bunch of hardwood and make it into charcoal. I use either maple or oak since that's whats handy on my property. Sear the ribs quickly while there are flames and then take them off the heat. This is to get the nice crunchy, caramelized outside part. Then put the lid on the grill with the holes open and have the lid cracked a bit. When the flames die down and it's just smoking coals, put the meat back on the grill. Also take a can and fill it part way with beer and put that on the grill as well. This will create steam that keeps the meat from drying out. Mmmm. Beer steam. Put the lid back on the grill (cracked) and let the meat smoke for at least an hour.

When it's done, there you. Barbecue sauce and smoked ribs. Either eat it right off the bone or cut the meat off, shred it and put it on a bun with some sauce and cole slaw.

I forgot the sugar when I made this yesterday. It was still pretty good but not quite as good as last week's batch. Last time I used maple for the smoking. This time I walked over to the biggest oak tree on my land and found some sizable dead wood that had fallen. I hacked it into manageable pieces with a hatchet and used it for charcoal. I think that it burned much, much hotter than the maple did.

09:53 - 2008-06-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

1 comments so far