cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have you ever heard two turtle doves

I cannot stop listening to Ella Fitzgerald's version of 'Lullaby of Birdland.' Again and again and again.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=fxjL2Fac40Y

It was an ok weekend. On Saturday I fixed and reupholstered a few chairs, including the one that Trish sits in at the computer every day. They both look marvelous. Trish didn't even say 'thank you.' Bah.

Around 3 pm, Trish and Ida went to a movie and I was home with the baby until 7:30 or so. We had a good time together. We went to see the horses and donkeys across the street, picked blackberries (he can't get enough of them), watched Teletubbies, played with blocks (actually scrap wood) in the workshop, etc, etc.

Sunday was less productive on my par. I basically fucked around in the workshop. I disassembled, cleaned and even reassembled my Ruger .22 pistol. I'd been needing to do that for the last 6 months, actually. I'm now way out of practice with it. Reassembling the Mk. III pistol is like a 3 dimensional chinese puzzle and every time I tackle it I end up wanting to throw it out the window.

I shot the Ruger, shot my SKS and then I shot the nice Yugo Mauser that has been my trunk gun for the last year or so. I need more rifle practice this summer. I've been slack about it and my form has suffered. I've had lots of shotgun practive this year but not enough with handguns or rifles.

It's my birthday next week. I've been telling everyone in my family that literally the only thing I want is wood. I desperately need plywood sheathing, some 2x6s, subfloor for the attic, rolls of roofing felt and roofing nails. This shit with the tarps hung over the framing of the workshop roof is not going to work for much longer on account of UV rays deteriorating the plastic. I need a proper roof very badly and lack the money for the materials.

But just watch. My mother will probably get me some new-age 'realize your inner self' bullshit book. When for the same money she could hook me up with enough 2x6s to build the fascia. She is *so* in denial over who I actually am.


4:27 p.m. - 2008-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far