cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It Looked Like a Nice Little Fox

On my way home from an unsuccessful dove hunt yesterday I passed a very young red fox that some fucker had hit with a car and left to die in the middle of the road. It's back legs had clearly been paralyzed. I saw it raising it's head as I drove past and I just couldn't leave it like that. So I pulled over into the next driveway, put a loaded magazine into my Ruger .22 pistol, rolled down my window and turned the car around. I stopped next to the fox and looked down at it.

It looked like a nice little fox. It reminded me of a little dog. I wished that I could pick it up and give it a hug and take the fox home. But that was not really an option. In the first place, it would bite me. In the second place, no vet will treat a wild animal. In the 3rd place, it's likely that any vet that I even asked about it would turn me in for possessing a wild animal without being a licensed wildlife rehabilitator. There was nothing that I could give to it except for death. So I aimed the target pistol at the fox's head and squeezed the trigger 3 times. It was definitely dead now. I drove away.

That was not the first mortally wounded animal that I have put down by the side of the road and I expect that it will not be the last. It pisses me off almost every time. If you hit an animal in the road, why is it so fucking hard to take some responsibility for the action by stopping to do the right thing? If you have to come back with someone else to help you to kill it, then fine. But who really does that? Nobody. They just hit the fox or the deer or the squirrel or what have you and they keep driving. Any hunter who mortally wounded an animal and then deliberately just left it there to die slowly would be crucified. In fact, that is a criminal action in every state I know of. But somehow it's supposed to be acceptable for Joe Motorist to do the same thing.

Such a nice little fox. I don't understand fox hunting. I mean the whole thing on horseback. It's one thing to shoot a fox that is raiding your hen house and killing chickens that you depend on for food or income. You do what you've got to do. But to do it just for 'fun?' What the fuck kind of sick shit is that? They don't even eat it or anything.

10:59 a.m. - 2008-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

1 comments so far