cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Cause of my Displeasure

I am suddenly profoundly unhappy.

Without getting into the details of how, I accidentally saw a transcript of a chat between Trish and her internet boyfriend from the other night. Now in the first place I should say that that I do not care about her having an internet boyfriend. I am not a jealous sort. The simple fact of her talking and flirting or even fucking around with someone else is not in it's self threatening to me. She's had her internet boyfriend for months now and it's not been a problem.

But here a line has been crossed. This dipshit asked her out of nowhere 'do you regret getting married' and her response was of a very disrespectful nature. Essentially she said that she frequently does regret it. And it was all phrased in such a way as to appear inviting to him.

It's one of two things here. Either what she said was true, which is horrible. Or it is false, which is horrible in a different way.

There is a convention in western society that when engaging in or attempting an affair, a married person criticizes and blames the spouse. The object of the affair is brought into a confidence of criticism.

'I must do this because he/she does not understand me or because they do not want to fuck anymore or because I never should have married in the first place.'

This criticism and demonizing of the absent spouse serves both to cement the unity of the affair through conspiracy and also to justify it.

Personally, I find this to be absolute bullshit. I am entirely willing to have sex with a female friend or acquaintance but I will not talk shit about Trish in that manner. The plain truth of it is that married people have sex with other people sometimes because they want to. Because people like to fuck other people. The fact of my finding other women attractive does not mean that there is anything wrong with Trish or that I have any regrets about being married to her.

The act of fucking someone else is not necessarily disloyal. But the act of talking shit about the spouse (me) and claiming to the other man that she wishes she had never married is extremely disloyal. She could suck 100 dicks and I would not be offended. But to chastely tell one man in confidence that she wishes she were not married, in order to seduce him and cement their mutual confidence, is something that I find extremely offensive.

It is noteworthy that in the same chat they returned several times to the details of how and where to meet up in person for a few days.

In either case, this is a problem. Now I am going to mull it over for a few days in order to determine what, if anything, I intend to do. I may have a few words with Trish or I may kneecap the internet boyfriend. Or maybe do both?

10:01 a.m. - 2008-12-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far