cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gluttony or Waste?

Which is the greater sin: gluttony or waste?

In the modern, middle class America we are frequently forced to choose between these two sins when we eat out. Portion sizes are frequently enormous. I don't really want to eat but so much food at one sitting. But I have paid for it and besides I know perfectly well that if it goes back into the kitchen with half of the food uneaten, it's all going into the garbage.


How annoying. When possible, I get my lunch from a guy on the Mall who has a gourmet food cart. He got written up in 'Bon Appetit' (did I spell that correctly?) as one of the 5 best creaters of street food in America. I like getting his stuff because the food is extremely good and varied and has high quality ingredients but the portions are very small. I'm putting my money into quality rather than quantity and I can do it for $5 or less.

Unfortunately he's not out there every day and he seems to be taking most of the winter off.

1:50 p.m. - 2008-12-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far