cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Taste of Spring Fever

Last night I had a dream that I watched as Barack Obama died in a jetski accident. I was very, very sad in this dream.

This isn't the first or the second or even the thousandth time that this has been said, but somehow it just feels almost impossible that Barack Obama could make it alive all the way through 8 years as President. He's too good to last. Honest, polite, conciliatory, merciful and intelligent. In spite of my disagreements with certain of his policies, he seems too good to last. It seems too far fetched to think that we could actually have this in the Oval Office without losing it in some horrible and dramatic way. We're all too accustomed to disappointment. When I saw a picture of Michelle Obama in the news today I saw a widow. I pictured her the day before the funeral.

This weekend it is supposed to get into the mid-60's (F) here. Thank God. It's fucking freezing today. 27 degrees and down into the teens with the wind chill factor. If the weather unfolds as predicted then I will spend the entire weekend outside. I will set the alarm clock on Saturday morning for dawn and not miss a moment of the day. I will get the roof and front door of the workshop straightened out for once and the wall. I have plywood on hand for another layer of sheating over what is already there. One layer of 3/8th inch ply turned out to be inadequate for actually putting roofing nails into. Too much bounce and deflection. So I have to rip off the tattered roofing felt that is currently on there and figure out how to haul up these whole 4x8 sheets of plywood to put down over whats already there, then re-apply roofing felt and hopefully start putting on the actual shingles.

Spring building season. Oh man, I am getting psyched for it. I've tried to not even think about construction for the last 3 or 4 months because the combination of short days, cold weather and injured tendons in my arms made it completely impractical to actually do any construction work. But that cortisone shot really set me up nicely last month and when the weather improves I am ready to go. Probably it will cool down again after this weekend since it is in fact February. But come March, I can expect lots of these kinds of days to happen as spring starts to peek out in subtle ways.

Hey! I'm ordering malt and hops today. Dammit. I am going to start now on brewing a spring fever ale. Yes. Spring fever. I crave it.

11:05 a.m. - 2009-02-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far