cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Writing A Book And It's Awesome

I'm working on a book right now and it seems to be materializing very quickly.

Everyone who has bought this '101 Things' book that just came out has been telling me that my chapter and maybe a dozen others are really good but that the rest of it is mostly shit. Which is absolutely true.

So I decided to write a better book on my own. I don't think that I have to feel bad about it or risk a lawsuit over taking their concept, because it was not an original idea in the first place. I have a copy of 'The Man's Guide to Everything' that I was given for Christmas about 15 years ago and it's the exact same idea.

Essentially, this book is a guide to the manly arts. Instructions on how to do the really important things in life. Chapters that I have already written (or mostly written) include 'how to gut and skin small game,' 'how to build a house,' 'how to get rid of a body,' and 'how to amputate your own leg.'

This book will be fucking awesome and so far it practically writes it's self. I'm plowing straight through it and haven't had a second of writers block. Every time that I can sit down in front of a computer for an hour, another chapter gets written. Later on there will be more time spent on fact-checking, of course. I want good sourcing so that a publisher knows that this thing isn't all bullshit.

Future chapters will include 'how to make steel,' 'how to escape from prison,' 'tactics of guerilla warfare,' and all sorts of other fun shit that every man needs to know.

I have such a great set of technical advisors among my friends to draw from. Paul, the blacksmith, can hopefully help me with the chapter on making steel. I have friends who are current and former Green Berets that can advise on the guerilla warfare. Etc.

Not to make this project too elaborate, but I am also considering conducting some live experiments for a few of these tasks and filming them. Like if I can rope Paul into actually making the steel with me then obviously we would film that. I can pick up some fresh roadkill and film the process of dissolving it in boiling caustic soda in order to demonstrate how to get rid of a body. The idea is that if I get the book published then I will put all of this shit on Youtube as part of a promotional campaign.

I wish I could just take a day off from work and write. In fact, I might go ahead and do that next week. Assuming that I can get Trish to take the kids somewhere for most of the day so that I can be free of distraction at home.

9:50 a.m. - 2009-02-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far