cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fortune Smiles

Wow. What a week. An astounding week of total reversal.

One moment I was on the cusp of horrible financial collapse, the next moment I find myself fairly swimming in cash. Following the date-rape of my IRA, I managed to not only get the money to make this stock purchase but also arrange some money off of that deal to pay off all of my non-mortgage debt. I have zero credit card debt and all of my cars are paid off and owned outright.

Then it got even better, as my combined state and federal tax refund far, far exceeeded what I ever imagined it could be. Over $8,000 as it turns out. Sweet fuck how I love my accountant.

Oh, and then there is some mysterious sum of money on its way to me from the coffers of the city I moved out of a few years ago. Some sort of refund of utility deposits or perhaps a remaining balance of property taxes pro rata after I sold my house. No idea. All I know is that they say they owe me money and couldn't find me for years and now there is some sort of check on its way to me shortly. Neat.

Talk about a total fucking miracle here. Its astounding. We're putting most of the money away into savings, but we're using some of it to book a trip to Europe in May. Probably a week in Paris, where we will meet up with Mnemosynea. Then hopefully 36 hours or so in either London or Munich.

Meanwhile, I am exceedingly grateful for my deliverance. Yesterday when I stopped for beer on the way home, I stuck folded up $2 bills into the drivers side door handles of other cars parked near me. And about an hour ago I left the office for about 15 minutes in order to walk over to the bank and withdraw $5 worth of quarters and $5 in one dollar bills. I handed the $5 in bills to the first beggar I saw and then I walked over to the metered parking lot and systematically walked around the entire lot feeding a quarter into every meter with less than 30 minutes remaining on it.

I didn't think that anyone would even notice, but I was actually given a round of applause by a group of construction workers who were tearing up the street for some reason. Then on the other side of the lot a young woman stopped me as I was feeding a meter and asked if I had any jumper cables. I told I was very sorry but my car was parked nowhere remotely near by. And she gave me this look like "what the fuck are you talking about?" because there I was feeding a parking meter and saying that I had no car nearby.

And then I walked a few steps to the next meter with 2 minutes left on it and I fed that one as well. And then she didn't know what the fuck to make of me. That was the last of my quarters so I walked back to the office.

This is a very fun day.

Oh, and I think that as soon as the first of the refunds hit my checking account, I am going to buy Trish a laptop. She really wants on. It won't be anything fancy or expensive. Just one of those little Acer things that costs $300. But she'll be very happy to have it.

3:02 p.m. - 2009-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far