cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3 Days to Munich

In 3 days we're flying to Munich. Woo-hoo!

I have to pack and shit. Aside from packing I think I've done all the possible planning and preparation possible. I already even have Euros in my wallet. We're fucking set.

On Saturday I finally got a new mini tractor. It came with a wagon and a mower deck and a cover and some other stuff. Dude sold it to me for $450, which was a good deal. I paid for it entirely with mileage reimbursement from road trips for work. Very satisfying. I got about a quarter acre mowed before I had to go run errands and by the time I came back it had started raining. Since then it's been raining most of the time so I've not gotten much use out of the new mower yet.

Last night we went over to Trish's parents' house for dinner. They served us spaghetti with sauce made from ground pork. My rule on pork is officially that I will not eat factory farmed pork. Free range pork being theoretically ok. This was free-range meat that they got from personal friends that raised the pig.

Ugh. Just ugh. The taste was this vile spiciness that I hardly seem to register as even being edible. I wanted to vomit it out. It wasn't that there was really anything wrong with the sauce. My body just no longer accepts pork as food.

My stomach has been all queasy and weird since then.

I don't even know how long its been since I gave up pork. But its really gotten to the point where aside from the occasional craving of bacon or barbeque, I don't desire pork at all now. In fact, I bet that if I ate a couple of pieces of pork bacon at this point, the reaction would be the same as with the ground pork last night. I think my body would just reject it.

Meanwhile, its getting to be time soon to pony up $1,000 for that tag to hunt bison in Custer st@te park. It is looking more and more like this hunt will be happening. Hell of a long way to drive to get truly free range beef, though. I can't decide what to do in the way of a rifle. I'm leaning towards taking my .30-'06 stainless. Loaded with 220 grain solids, that should probably do the trick within 150 yards. But if things get hairy, I might prefer to be carrying something a little heavier. Like maybe I could rebarrel one of my Mausers for .35 Whelan. But that would run me between $250 to $500 when all was said and done. Or I could go for a single-shot .45-70 if I wanted to get all traditional.

3:47 p.m. - 2009-05-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far