cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Its all really about death or something

Let me tell you the very best thing that Ida has going for her.

She has no idea about the inevitability of death. It has never once occured to her that she and I will most likely not live forever. And that is one charmed life she has.

The central theme of everything after childhood is usually death, whether one admits it or not. You read anyone's diary on the internet for long enough and you'll see that everything else is just the skirt over the slip. And the lacy little hem of death is going to stick out every time they bend over.

All novels are ultimately about death.

I'm not sure I actually believe that sentence, but it was fun to write. I'm sure that someone could have a ball trying to defend it.

I don't think that I should write overtly about death very much because everyone else already has and I'm not sure that I really have anything very original or useful to add to the subject.

Last night Ida fell asleep on my shoulder while I read aloud from a history of the bison. She seemed to like the parts about the various magical rituals that different tribes would use to summon herds of bison when they needed them for food.

3:50 p.m. - 2009-06-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far