cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4th of July Shotgunning

4th of July weekend was ok. I spent most of Satuday doing yard work, followed by an hour or so of .22 target practice in the late afternoon. Sunday morning it rained and the parade that Trish and the kids went to got cancelled.

I spent all of Sunday morning cleaning the house and then Paul (the blacksmith) came over to shoot clays with me through the on-and-off drizzle. My brother was supposed to come, too. I'd bought extra shells and clays and ear protection for him, and then he just flaked out.

We really don't mind shooting clays in the rain. If anything it makes for better practice for hunting. Simulating common field conditions and all. I shot very well. We trade off, shooting at 5 clays each and then switching. Which helps keep our shotguns from overheating and keeps it interesting for everyone. I never missed more than 1 clay per turn and had quite a few 5-out-of-5s.

Ida came out with us for a bit, like she often does. She can't handle a shotgun yet, but she helps out by pulling the trap. Afterwards she shot targets with us, using her little pink .22 rifle.

A very well-rounded little 5 year old girl is she.

Paul's wife is pregnant. Everyone is pregnant lately.

Unfortunately, my left arm has been brutalized by tendon inflammation lately. I had to stop shooting clays early because it was just too painful to either hold the shotgun up or re-set the spring on the trap. Literally I had to put the arm in a sling for the rest of the afternoon.

I've got to come up with $1,000 for the tag for this bison hunt by the end of July. And I have no fucking clue where that is going to come from at the moment.

1:32 p.m. - 2009-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far