cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But you fuck one sheep...

Oh, 3 entries here in one day is pushing it. Whatever.

I was just thinking that to most people, I will never be the person who got the sparrow out of the drain or saved Squeak the toad from the snake or any of those other things. I will only be the guy who shoots deer.

It's like the old joke about the man who laments thus:

"I laid the foundations for most of the houses on this street, do they call me Angus the Stonemason? No, they do not.

"I dug wells for half the families in town, do they call me Angus the Water-bringer? No, they do not.

"I built bridges over nearly every creek in the county, do they call me Angus the BridgeBuilder? No, they do not.

"But you fuck one sheep..."

I am left with the probably irrational sense that I have not done enough for that little sparrow. A feeling of slight failure. This happens to me almost every time that I save or protect a life. It's never good enough.

Here's a question for you; what if that sparrow gets run over by a car 5 minutes from now? Would it still have been worth saving it from the drain hole?

I think so. Even a few minutes worth of life makes it worthwhile. Just the experience that the bird had of finding its self plucked from doom in as perfect an example of deus ex machina as one could ask for. Imagine that moment for the bird. Suddenly set free back in the sunlight, in the familiar courtyard under the tree and the nest in which it was born. I think that moment of profound relief would make it all worth my while, regardless of what chance mishap followed.

11:50 a.m. - 2009-07-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far