cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Birthdays and Such

I find that one really doesn't need as much to eat as one thinks one does. Unless one is doing heavy labor. Like my inclination when I went out for lunch at work was to get 2 tacos from the stand on the Mall. But I decided to get just one and see what would happen. So I sat down and ate my taco and I still felt hungry. But I waited about 10 minutes and read the news and then I wasn't hungry anymore. I read somewhere that it takes something like 10 or 12 minutes for fullness of your stomach to communicate to your brain that it is sated. This fits with what I have observed.

My sister is visiting this weekend. Tomorrow is my mother's birthday and I have to drive out to my parents' house right in the middle of the day.

Oh fuck. Tomorrow is my mother's birthday and I haven't gotten her anything. Fuck fuck fuck.

It's my birthday next Friday. I officially have the day off but I don't know if I'll actually use it. It's such a bitch having other people deal with my shit when I'm out and then I have to come back in and face whatever they have fucked up. If I do have the day off, it would be nice to be able to spend the day at home, alone, cleaning and fixing stuff. However, that won't work because Trish and the kids will be there. Maybe I'd go drive to the Maidens b0at landing and spend the day fishing and staring off into space.

Unfortunately, I will probably be instructed to go to both my parents' place for birthday doings next week as well as to Trish's parents' house. Which is a 45 minute drive each way in the first case and 30 minutes in the second. I just want one fucking weekend at home where I don't have to be anywhere. And I will end up going at least 5 weeks straight without being able to do that. I have grass to mow, a tractor to work on, etc. etc. and never have any opportunity to do so on account of various family obligations.

In other news, I am becoming very much fed up with my mother's bullshit. The veiled bitchy and judgemental comments to both Trish and to my brother's wife have gotten completely out of hand. I wonder whether she even realizes how outrageously rude she is. I don't even see the point of elaborating much here.

You know what's kind of nice? My brother will be out of town tomorrow for my mother's birthday. Because the man does not know when to shut the fuck up. Almost every single family gathering, he takes it upon himself to begin making a speech which will generally last for 10 to 15 minutes. From that point on, he acts as if he was hosting a radio talk show right there at the dinner table. It gets old fast. Everything is 'me me me' and 'look at this clever thing that I am very concerned about after reading about it in the New Yorker.' Essentially he insists on dictating and monopolizing casual conversation at table. I think it pisses my sister off even more than it does me.

I don't really have all that much to bitch about, though. I come from what most people would find to be a sickeningly well-adjusted family. There is one uncle who got a divorce about 18 years ago and an aunt who is pleasantly alcoholic. But aside from that its all very much Brady bunch. I don't have a single family member, including cousins by blood, who is overweight, unattractive, mal-adjusted or in any way a fuck-up. No handicaps aside from old age.

In my lifetime hitherto, we have only ever had 2 deaths in the extended family. A great aunt by marriage who died in her 70's and an uncle by marriage who died after fighting cancer for 16 years or so.

And right here the diary entry just sort of stops.

1:54 p.m. - 2009-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far