cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Work Progresses

I did some actual work this morning and then punched up the 14 pages of this book I wrote in the last few days, adding footnotes and tweaking some data. Right now I am thinking that I should make it a priority to write a chapter on the politics on hunting with emphasis on the argument for why this is something perfectly consistent with liberal values. I have blog entries on this that I can crib from to speed it up. That is probably the stuff that a publisher will be most interested in, since what sells the book is not so much the useful lessons in biology and hunting tactics as the concept of exhorting liberal Democrats to obtain rifles and start hunting.

Maybe 2 chapters of the concept and the political/ethical stuff, followed by 3 chapters of real science interspersed with anecdotes of hunting. I would think that this would be a good chunk of a book to present to a publisher. The trouble here is that 40 or 50 page practically write themselves and then I need to fill it out with another 150 pages at a minimum to make a proper book. What the fuck do I do for the rest of the book? Maybe I can fatten it up with stories and anecdotes to demonstrate the application of every little tactic or piece of equipment.

The part that I'm really not looking forward to is running around like a wanker to promote the book. I can do it. I mean, I was Vice Chair for Publicity of my local Democratic Party. I know how to deal with the media and do interviews and send out press releases and all that shit. That doesn't mean that I like it. But if there's potentially money waiting for me then I'm there.

11:31 a.m. - 2009-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far