cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maybe She Just Wants to Fuck

Tomorrow I fly to Phoenix, Arizona for a business trip. It is a thing that I am doing and I feel no particular attitude towards it. I like to fly on airplanes and I like being in airports. But once I get to my destination it will be 3 days or so of being ridiculously tightly scheduled, sitting through hours and hours of tedious classes on dull industry topics that I have learned enough about years ago. Rushed lunches and dinners in sectioned-off hotel ballrooms, eating bland chicken with overcooked vegetables around a table of random people whom I will probably never see again.

I will return to my hotel room at the end of the day with a sense of relief for the escape and privacy. Yet I will be fidgety and torn between a sense of not knowing how to occupy myself for a few hours before sleep and a fear of staying awake too late and not getting enough sleep before having to be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed in the conference room at 8 am the following morning.

These places are always in the middle of fucking nowhere. These convention hotels. Without a car (which is not in the cards for my expense account at the moment) there is no place to go. Just a series of equally dull hotels and conference centers all in a row of varying price points on a suburban highway with no sidewalks. God help the convention of carpet wholesalers at the Days Inn down the street. At least I'm in a 4-star level of purgatory.

Oh look, I just got an email from a chick who I met at the last class I taught in Richmond. This is weird. She wants to get together with me to talk about some sort of stuff. Which is strange because technically she is my direct competition. She's kind of hot. She's the one who was flirting with me during breaks and after the class. I don't know what is up with this. She's married.

It has got to be one of three things.

1. She wants to fuck me.

2. She is either looking to get hired by me or looking to recruit me to her firm.

3. Perhaps she has strange delusions about how this business works, does not realize that we are direct competitors, and thinks that there is some potential for 'synergy' and referrals or something.

We are not in a position to hire anyone at the moment, so I am rooting for option number 1. On the other hand, it would be nice to get offered a lot of money to work somewhere else. Frankly, if they dangled enough money in front of me, at this point I would probably take it. I just emailed her back and told her I'd be happy to have lunch with her or whatever. This will be an interestingbit of plot for as long as it lasts.

1:03 p.m. - 2009-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far