cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

48 Hours til Munich

I woke up feeling terribly ill this morning at about 9 am. I made an effort at having a proper sort of day but it just wasn't going to happen. I drank some coffee, took a painkiller, ate half a bowl of cereal and then went back to bed. Didn't wake up until 2 pm. Christ, how awful. A waste of half a day.

Then I did manage to be a bit productive. I re-zeroed Trish's deer rifle for her, which she'd asked me to do since she'd had it in the trunk of her car for a while and the scope was certainly knocked out of whack. Indeed it turned out to be shooting about 4 inches to the left and an inch high at 50 yards. I made the proper adjustments and its like a laser beam again.

That really is a wonderfully accurate little motherfucker of a rifle that she has. A 7mm-08, Remington model 700 in a youth version. I bought it for her last year. She's not bad with it, although I ought to get the trigger lightened for her. She is dead set on getting as many deer as possible this year and she is very mercenary about the whole thing. She hunted a bit last year and has the general idea, although she didn't get a shot at one last season.

It is strange to talk to a hunter who doesn't give a shit about nature. Which she really doesn't, when you get right down to it. She is only in it for the free meat. A very normal sort of intelligent woman, well-dressed, well-spoken, well-educated. Who also has a fervant desire to shoot and kill anything that might be good to eat.

I also did some target shooting with my 8mm project Mauser that I have spent years building. Sweet fuck but that is one accurate rifle. Far more accurate than it has any right to be. I think it might be the most accurate rifle I own, and that is out of something like 2 dozen rifles all told. Sadly, the front sling swivel's screw pulled out of the stock today. This is the stock that I re-shaped and hand-finished and for which Paul (my friend the blacksmith) forged a custom butt plate. Between that and the fact that the bolt keeps banging into the top of the leather cheek pad required to align my eye with the scope, I now fear that I will have to replace that stock altogether.

This distresses me, because that wonderful old walnut Brazilian stock is so much of what gives that rifle its charm. It is hard to imagine equaling it without spending $300 or more on a custom job. The only solution I can think of for the leather cheek piece issue would be to do something like screwing it back in place on the stock with a couple of brass screws. As for the sling swivel that came out, maybe I can find a good wood to metal glue and permanently keep the swivel screw in place.

It is 12 am. Monday. On Wednesday I leave for Munich. Only about 48 hours to prepare. Wow. How the fuck did that time go by? I fear that I cannot possibly have all of my shit done at work in time. And I worry about having enough money with me when I go. But its all very exciting. If I can scrape u pan extra $100 from somewhere then I will be taking a train to Austria, which is terribly romantic.

11:45 p.m. - 2009-09-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far