cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vaporizing every fruit she sees

Tomorrow I am totally flying to Munich!

Yesterday I did some more rifle shooting. I've really slacked off in that area this year, mostly due to the cost of ammo. I re-zeroed the scope on my .30-'06 and quickly got it back to hitting half inch bullseyes at 50 yards. 3 out of 4 of our scoped deer rifles got zeroed in the last few days. For some reason I did not get around to shooting and re-zeroing Trish's Enfield. I tweaked the zero on my scoped .22 as well and did some practice with it off of safari sticks in order to simulate field shots with a deer rifle. I'd only just gotten started with the .22 when Trish and the kids came home.

An accurate rifle is a thing of joy in the hands. It is immensely satisfying to put, at will, holes into a piece of paper 50 or 100 yards distance in a very small group right where I want them. This is especially the case with rifles that I either built myself or at the very least have personally scoped.

Ida blew a slightly spoiled zucchini into bits with her single shot .22 yesterday afternoon. I was very proud of her. She wants to vaporize every fruit she sees lately. Under my immediate supervision, of course.

So tomorrow afternoon I'm leaving for Munich, which is almost surreal. It feels like it should be at least 2 weeks away. And yet. I just hope that PIN to get cash from my AMEX shows up in the mail today or else I am screwed in terms of money while I'm there.

11:12 a.m. - 2009-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far